HomeWorld NewsLok Sabha Elections 2024: The BJP-led NDA Strengthens its Alliances

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: The BJP-led NDA Strengthens its Alliances

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: The BJP-led NDA Strengthens its Alliances

The Lok Sabha Elections 2024 have become a focal point of discussions and political maneuvers as political parties gear up to secure their positions in the country’s highest legislative body. One of the most prominent alliances in the political landscape, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), showcased its strength last week in view of the upcoming elections. With participation from a staggering total of 38 parties representing almost all states of the country, the NDA demonstrated its commitment to forming a formidable coalition.

The NDA’s Meeting and the Opposition’s Alliance

In a strategically planned move, the NDA organized a crucial meeting on the same day when 26 opposition parties announced an alliance named India. This well-timed gathering was a powerful signal of the NDA’s intent to counter any opposition challenge and solidify its position for the forthcoming elections.

Analyzing NDA Allies’ Electoral Track Record

While the NDA’s unity might appear formidable, it is essential to scrutinize the electoral track record of its constituent parties. According to media reports, nine out of the 38 parties in the NDA alliance did not participate in the Lok Sabha elections of 2019. Additionally, 16 parties within the NDA alliance failed to secure a single seat in the last general election, and seven parties were only able to win one seat each. These statistics indicate that some allies need to strengthen their performance to bolster the NDA’s chances of success in the upcoming elections.

The BJP-led NDA’s Past Successes

Despite some allies facing challenges in the past, the BJP-led NDA has been successful in securing power at the Centre for two consecutive terms. Their earlier victories came through winning the mandate of the people independently in the 11-party NDA of the northeastern states. The current alliance aims to build on this track record and leave no stone unturned in its pursuit of forming the government at the Center. The continuity of power is of paramount importance, and the NDA is eager to ensure that there is no change in this aspect.

The BJP’s Strategy for the Upcoming Elections

As the leading party in the NDA alliance, the BJP’s primary objective is to allocate distinct roles to all NDA constituents, allowing them to play to their strengths in their respective regions. The strategy involves targeting states like Maharashtra, Bihar, and Punjab, where the BJP aims to consolidate its position further. Moreover, the party has thoughtfully assessed the potential Lok Sabha seats in the northeastern states, resulting in a total of 11 parties being included in the NDA alliance from the region.

NDA Allies Standing with PM Modi

The NDA alliance stands united under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and it comprises a diverse range of parties from various states. Some of the prominent parties in the alliance that are staunch supporters of PM Modi include:

  1. All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK): A regional party from Tamil Nadu.
  2. Tamil Maanila Congress (Tamil Maanila Congress): Another party with its roots in Tamil Nadu.
  3. Pattali Makkal Katchi (Pattali Makkal Katchi): A party representing the interests of the Pattali community in Tamil Nadu.
  4. Puthiya Tamilgam (Puthiya Tamilgam): A party catering to the needs of the Tamil-speaking population.
  5. All India NR Congress: A regional party from the union territory of Puducherry.
  6. Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde): A Maharashtra-based party known for its regional strength.
  7. Nationalist Congress Party (Ajit Pawar) (NCP): A significant party in Maharashtra, known for its leadership under Sharad Pawar.
  8. Republican Party of India (Athawale) (RPI Athawale): A party representing the Dalit community, led by Ramdas Athawale.
  9. Rashtriya Samaj Paksha (Rashtriya Samaj Paksha): A Maharashtra-based party focusing on social welfare.
  10. Jannayak Janata Party (JJP): A party with a significant presence in Haryana and Delhi.
  11. Jana Sena Party (JSP): A regional party from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

These are just a few of the many parties that stand in support of PM Modi and the BJP-led NDA.

NDA Allies from Different States

The NDA’s alliance extends beyond major states like Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, and Haryana. It encompasses a broad spectrum of regional parties from various states across the country. Some of these include:

  1. Prahar Janshakti Party (Prahar Janshakti Party): A party active in Madhya Pradesh, led by Dr. Ajit Nawale.
  2. Jana Surajya Shakti (Jan Surajya Shakti): A regional party operating in Karnataka.
  3. Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP): A party representing the interests of Goa’s people.
  4. Lok Janshakti Party (Chirag LJP): A party from Bihar, formerly led by Chirag Paswan.
  5. Rashtriya Lok Janshakti Party (Paras, RLJP): Another Bihar-based party with significant influence.
  6. Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) (HAM): A party active in Bihar and founded by former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi.
  7. All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU): A party with a presence in Jharkhand.
  8. Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (BSP): A party from Uttar Pradesh.
  9. Shiromani Akali Dal (United) (SADS): A regional party representing Sikh interests in Punjab.
  10. Apna Dal (Sonelal) (Apna Dal Sonelal): A party with significant influence in Uttar Pradesh.
  11. Kerala Kamaraj Congress (KKC): A party active in Kerala.
  12. Bharat Dharma Jana Sena: A party with a presence in Kerala.
  13. Weak Indian Exploited Our Aam Dal (Nishad) (NISHAD): A party representing the Nishad community in Uttar Pradesh.
  14. Haryana Lokhit Party (HLP): A regional party from Haryana.
  15. Asom Gana Parishad (Asom Gana Parishad): A party representing Assam’s interests.
  16. United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL): A party with influence in Assam.
  17. Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT): A party from Tripura representing tribal interests.
  18. National People’s Party, Meghalaya (NPP): A significant party in Meghalaya.
  19. United Democratic Party: A party active in Meghalaya.
  20. Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP): A regional party from Meghalaya.
  21. Mizo National Front (MNF): A party representing Mizoram’s interests.
  22. Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP): A party from Nagaland.
  23. Naga People’s Front (NPF): Another party representing Nagaland’s interests.
  24. Kuki People’s Alliance: A party from Manipur.
  25. Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM): A significant party in Sikkim.
  26. Gorkha National Liberation Front (GNLP): A party representing the Gorkha community in West Bengal.
  27. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): The leading party in the NDA alliance.


The BJP-led NDA’s efforts to strengthen its alliance ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024 are in full swing. With a diverse array of regional parties and a committed leadership under Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the NDA aims to form a robust government at the Center. However, the path is not without challenges, and some allies need to bolster their electoral track records. Nevertheless, the NDA’s strategic planning and cohesive efforts demonstrate its determination to secure a strong mandate from the people.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments